Erzsébet bridge is one the eight bridges found in Budapest. The bridge, which used to be the largest suspension bridge at the time of its first construction in 1898-1903, and along with many other bridges all over the country, it was blown up at the end of World War II. The new cable bridge was finished in 1964. The bridge has no pillars, its monumental white structure serves as the gateway to downtown. The original bridge was not rebuilt, but pictures and salvaged parts of the old bridge can be seen on the grass in front of the Museum of Transport in City Park.
The bridge was inaugurated on 10 October 1903. Erzsébet bridge is the third newest bridge in Budapest connecting the Buda and Pest side across the Danube. It actually spans the narrowest area of the river, covering 290m. The bridge is named after Queen Elizabeth, empress of Austria-Hungary, who was assassinated in 1898.
On the Pest side of the Bridge, you can find the oldest church in Pest the Inner City Parish Church and Mátyás Pince restaurant. On the Buda side it runs directly into the massive foot of Gellért Hill, Döbrentei Square, a sculpture of Queen Elisabeth and the Rácz Baths and Rudas Baths nearby.
The bridge is open to the public, there is public transportation that opened 10 years after its inauguration, buses, roads for cars, and a side-walk for pedestrians. Till this day, the Elizabeth Bridge is the most elegant bridge of Budapest, attracting the well-deserved attention of tourists due to its charming shape and snow-white color. The Budapest City Council has contributed 150 million Forint for the project. 2009 marked the 140th anniversary of establishing diplomatic links between the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy and Japan.